jump to navigation

The sweetness of the word of God March 14, 2011

Posted by daniel ayad in Biblical.
trackback

“Moreover He said to me, “Son of man, eat what you find; eat this scroll, and go, speak to the house of Israel. So I opened my mouth, and He caused me to eat that scroll. And He said to me, “Son of man, feed your belly, and fill your stomach with this scroll that I give you.” So I ate, and it was in my mouth like honey in sweetness.” (Ezek 3:1-3)

God commanded the prophet and priest Ezekiel to eat the scroll (the word of God). Even though it sounds strange, Ezekiel was not the only one to ‘eat’ the word of God, nor was he the only one to find the word of God as sweet as honey.

Others included John the beloved who was also commanded to eat the little book that was as sweet as honey in his mouth (Rev 10:9-10).

Jeremiah said: “Your words were found, and I ate them and Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart” (Jer 15:16).

The Lord Christ Himself said: “Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God” (Matt 4:4).

God’s word is delicious food that gives life and joy (or so it should be). It is sweet, though it carries bitterness because of God’s chastisements for the sake of our salvation. Look closely at Rev 10:10 “And he said to me, Take and eat it; and it will make your stomach bitter, but it will be as sweet as honey in your mouth.” See how God’s word is sweet, but it also carries bitterness.

Reading and living God’s word is truly joyful despite our tribulations. The word of God brings peace and comfort to all. With all the tribulations, temptations, and tough times, the love of God and the word surpasses it all. God’s love is so strong that “For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matt 11:30).

If God’s word is so sweet, I wonder why so many people neglect to read it? If His word truly tastes like honey, why are so many Christians reluctant to read and study the word?

Laziness and perhaps being partially lukewarm is the obvious answer. If we are in this position it is an absolute disaster and we must make the commitment to taste the honey before we reap the bitterness in our stomachs.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

