jump to navigation

The dry bones live May 27, 2011

Posted by daniel ayad in Biblical.
trackback

There is an interesting vision presented in Ezekiel 37. “The hand of the Lord came upon me and brought me out in the Spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley; and it was full of bones….. And He said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” So I answered, “O Lord God, You know.” Again He said to me, “Prophesy to these bones, and say to them, ‘O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord!” (Ezek 37:1-4).

These bones are lifeless! It is a portrait of dead people and these people need someone to raise them from the dead, and give them their life back.

This vision actually presents to us the resurrection from the dead as a divine work, continuous along the history, on several aspects:

–          Resurrection of the souls from the death of sin, to enter into the life of righteousness and holiness.

–          Resurrection of the Church of the New Testament

–          Resurrection of the bodies of saints in the great day of the Lord

God really cares for mankind. He is the one who gave us life. He gave us flesh. He gave us clothing and He gave us sinews. Sinews actually mean tendons, and those familiar with anatomy know that a tendon connects a bone to a muscle. Therefore God gives us tendons to allow movement between a bone and muscle. “I will put sinews on you and bring flesh upon you, cover you with skin and put breath in you; and you shall live. Then you shall know that I am the Lord.” (v 6)

Ezekiel followed God’s command to prophesy to the bones “So I prophesised as I was commanded; and as I prophesised, there was a noise, and suddenly a rattling; and the bones came together, bone to bone.” Probably the noise refers to the word of God and the rattling refers to the intervention of the Spirit of God[1].

When Ezekiel prophesised to the bones they came to life, and the people were an exceedingly great army. God’s people are a great force, because they have the all powering, conquering God. God’s people have great hope in Him. He is the hope of the hopeless and His people never lose their hope in Him. “Then you shall know that I am the Lord, when I have opened your graves, O My people, and brought you up from your graves” (v 13).

In the end, God wants our hearts. He wants us to all be united to Him. Eventually all the divisions will cease. There will be one king and one kingdom. “And I will make them one nation in the land, on the mountains of Israel; and one king shall be king over them all; they shall no longer be two nations, nor shall they ever be divided into two kingdoms again. They shall not defile themselves anymore with their idols, nor with their detestable things, nor with any of their transgressions; but I will deliver them from all their dwelling places in which they have sinned, and will cleanse them. Then they shall be My people, and I will be their God.” (v 22-23).

The rest of the chapter continues with God’s promise for His people. God makes an everlasting covenant of peace. “Moreover I will make a covenant of peace with them, and it shall be an everlasting covenant with them; I will establish them and multiply them, and I will set My sanctuary in their midst forever. My tabernacle also shall be with them; indeed I will be their God, and they shall be My people.” (26-27).

This draws a great parallel to the book of Revelation; “And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God.” (Rev 21: 3).

Wouldn’t it awesome to be in the midst of God? The dwelling of God with His creation seems wonderful.

It seems pretty important than, that we avoid detestable things and idols if we want to be resurrected with Him. If we really want to be resurrected from our dead bones, we need to turn to Him and avoid sinning against Him. And if we do sin against Him, we better quickly get cleansed so that we can be His people, and He can be our God. 


[1] Fr Tadros Malaty, A patristic commentary: Ezekiel, pg 300, 2003

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

