jump to navigation

Trusting in God, not man – Part 2 December 23, 2011

Posted by daniel ayad in Contemporary issues.
trackback

Recently I was told that I would be out of my full time job. My contract was coming to an end at the conclusion of the year, and I was told that it would not be renewed for two main reasons. The first is that the teacher that I was replacing over the past year was coming back, and the second is that the school wanted to go with a more experienced teacher who had joined shortly after my appointment. But interestingly as I learned before, God has usually very different ways than man.

When I first found out that I would be leaving, I was disappointed. This is mainly because the new teacher that had joined after me was not a qualified science teacher, but maths trained. I initially thought about complaining and even appealing as to why the school would take preference with a non-science trained teacher over a trained science teacher, but after some consideration I decided not to. I recalled the saying, “Do all things without complaining and disputing” (Phil 2:14). It appeared to me that complaining would do more harm than good, and you have to respect people who are in authority anyway. 

With the news that I was on my way out, I was advised to apply for jobs. I thought that since I now had experience, surely it would be easy to obtain employment in a job that is in demand. In total I probably applied for at least 30 jobs and this resulted in three job interviews. In the end, all of the three interviews were unsuccessful. One of the interview panel group members said that “they were very impressed with my application”, but ultimately they were not impressed enough. After my third unsuccessful interview, I applied for jobs with less pursuance and motivation and I started to give up and focus on studying again.

Towards the end of my contract I was still taking my job seriously, even though I was on my way out. In fact a couple of friends told me to stop preparing lessons because you don’t have a job there anyway. I told them that regardless of the situation you must work to the best of your ability at all times.

In the final week of the school year God opened a door. The maths teacher I mentioned earlier who took preference over my position was applying for maths positions in other schools. She ended up receiving two interviews at different schools, right at the end of the school year. I wished her well but said to her “that even if you get one of the two jobs, there is no guarantee that I will take your position”. The very next day I was told that if she got any of the positions I would take her job.

I began to realise that it was all in God’s hand, I had no control of the outcome. I worked diligently up until my final day, still unsure if I was back next year. I spent a lot of free time cleaning classrooms, always trying to be as honest as possible in my work. I also recalled Pope Shenouda’s response when he was asked about what made him so successful in life. He said “be earnest in everything that you do. You must work to the best of your ability in every job, regardless of the situation and circumstances”. It is selfish if you only look after yourself saying “I’m not going to be here next year so it’s not my problem”.

After the maths teacher had her interviews we both wished each other well regardless of the final outcome. I continually thanked her for her support throughout the year, and said that I would miss her either way. We left on very good terms……..and within a week God responding by granting the maths teacher her most preferred school for employment.

God taught me again to rely on Him, and not on myself. I learned to pray for others first, rather than become self-centred in my requests. I learned that no man can take control of his life, without the ball being in God’s court. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord’ (Isa 56: 7)

Once again “it is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man” (Ps 118: 8). Do not worry or be disappointed when things don’t go your way. They will go God’s way, in the end…..and always for the better….

Comments»

1. bishoymarcus - December 23, 2011

You deserve only the best Dan!

2. kerestina - December 24, 2011

Daniel i love how you share your experiences!!!


Leave a comment