jump to navigation

Five minutes after… September 17, 2013

Posted by daniel ayad in Unique.
trackback

 

SONY DSCWhen people think about heaven, it puts life into a completely new perspective and overwhelms you with the thought that you should have done much more for God….much more!

Consider the following article

Five minutes after ….

It may be a moment, or after months of waiting, but soon I shall stand before my Lord. Then in an instant all things will appear in new perspective.

Suddenly the things I thought important – tomorrow’s tasks, the plans for the dinner at my church, my success or failure in pleasing those around me – these will not matter at all. And the things to which I gave but little thought – the word about Christ to the man next door, the moment (how short it was) of earnest prayer for the Lord’s work in far-off lands, the confessing and forsaking of that secret sin – will stand as real and enduring.

Five minutes after I’m in heaven I’ll be overwhelmed by the truths I’ve known but somehow never grasped. I’ll realise then that it’s what I am in Christ that comes first with God, and that when I am right with Him, I do the things which please Him.

I’ll sense that it was not just how much I gave that mattered, but how I gave – and how much I withheld.

In heaven I’ll wish with all my heart that I could reclaim a thousandth part of the time I’ve let slip through my fingers, that I could call back those countless conversations which could have glorified my Lord – but didn’t.

Five minutes after I’m in heaven, I believe I’ll wish with all my heart that I had risen more faithfully to read the Word of God and wait on Him in prayer – that I might have known Him while still on earth as He wanted me to know Him.

A thousand thoughts will press upon me, and though overwhelmed by the grace which admits me to my heavenly home, I’ll wonder at my aimless earthly life. I’ll wish…..if one may wish in heaven – but it will be too late.

Heaven is real and hell is real, and eternity is but a breath away. Soon we shall be in the presence of the Lord we claim to serve. Why should we live as though salvation were a dream – as though we did not know?

“To him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.”

There may yet be a little time. A new year dawns before us. God help us to live now in the light of a real tomorrow![1]


[1] Moody Monthly, January, 1952

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

